The Society for European Philosophy held its inaugural conference in 1996, and has held an annual conference every year since then. It is managed by an executive committee of  academics.  The Society aims to support teaching and research in all areas of European (Continental) philosophy, providing a forum where people working on a broad range of topics within different disciplines can come together and pursue ideas. It aims to promote the understanding of the various traditions of Continental Philosophy within the Anglo-American philosophical world, within academia more broadly, and within the wider public sphere.

The SEP conference is now a major annual event for students and scholars of continental philosophy. From 2005 the SEP annual conference has been run jointly with the Forum for European Philosophy, helping to make the three-day conference one of the largest events in the field.

You become a member of SEP by attending the annual conference. Anyone is welcome to attend the Executive committee meeting, which takes place at the conference, and to apply to join the Executive. To keep updated on SEP activities please follow this blog by email (on main page), or join our Facebook group or JISCMail email list.

Join the SEP Facebook group

Join the SEP JISCMail email list

SEP Executive committee 2017-18:

Chair: Stella Sandford, Kingston University
Treasurer: Jonathan Clark, Trinity Laban University
Secretary: Henry Somers-Hall, Royal Holloway University of London
Communications officer: Beth Lord, University of Aberdeen, and Hannah Wallenfels, Freie Universitaet Berlin

Kit Barton, Regents University London
Clive Cazeaux, Cardiff Metropolitan University
Laura Cull O Maoilearca, University of Surrey
Maria Dada, University of the Arts London
Elaina Gauthier-Mamaril, University of Aberdeen
Sacha Golob, Kings College London
Steve Gormley, University of Essex
Anna Hickey-Moody, Goldsmiths College London
Wahida Khandker, Manchester Metropolitan University
Todd Mei, University of Kent
John O Maoilearca, Kingston University
Andrea Rehberg, Newcastle University
Andres Saenz de Sicilia, Kingston University
Danielle Sands, Royal Holloway University of London
Timothy Secret, University of Winchester
Dominic Smith, University of Dundee
Ruth Sonderegger, Akademie der Bildendenkunste, Vienna
Georgios Tsagdis, University of Westminster
Nathan Widder, Royal Holloway University of London



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.